COVID-19 Eviction Moratorium

The Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued a nation-wide temporary eviction moratorium for certain tenants through December 31, 2020. Additionally, the Texas Supreme Court has issued an order in support of the CDC's declared moratorium.

If you need help, call the Eviction Defense Coalition Hotline: 713-982-7340.

Texas Supreme Court Order:
Misc. Docket No. 20-9109

Information Sheets


COVID-19 Eviction Moratorium
English Declaration
Flyer Title Language View
COVID-19 Eviction Moratorium English View
Moratoria de desalojo COVID-19 Español View
Moratoire d'expulsion COVID-19 Français View
COVID-19驱逐暂停令 中文 View
کوویڈ ۔19 برطرفی معطل اُردُو View
Lệnh cấm vận chuyển COVID-19 Tiếng Việt View
وقف إخلاء COVID-19 اَلْعَرَبِيَّةُ View
Rental Assistance
Information for Renters Thumbnail
Flyer Title Language View
Rental Assistance Information English View
Información de asistencia para el alquiler Español View
Informations sur l'assistance à la location Français View
租赁协助信息 中文 View
کرایہ پر معاونت کی معلومات اُردُو View
Thông tin hỗ trợ cho thuê Tiếng Việt View
معلومات المساعدة في التأجير اَلْعَرَبِيَّةُ View
How to Talk to your Landlord
How to Talk to your Landlord
Flyer Title Language View
How to Talk to Your Landlord English View
Cómo hablar con su arrendador Español View
Comment parler à votre propriétaire Français View
如何与房东交谈 中文 View
اپنے مالک مکان سے کیسے بات کریں اُردُو View
Cách nói chuyện với chủ nhà của bạn Tiếng Việt View
كيف تتحدث مع مالك العقار اَلْعَرَبِيَّةُ View

Do you Qualify?

If these five statements apply to you, you may qualify for this order.
  • You have done your best to take advantage of government assistance for housing and rent
  • You meet income requirements, meaning ONE of these is true:
    • You will earn less than $99,000 (or $198,000 when combined with your spouse) this year
    • You weren’t required to pay taxes in 2019
    • You qualified for an income stimulus check earlier this year.
  • You are unable to make your full rent or housing payment because of a loss of income or large medical expense
  • You are currently doing your best to make timely partial housing payments that are as close to the full payment as possible
  • If evicted, you would either become homeless or enter a shared living space (like living with a family member or staying at a shelter).

Eligibility and qualification requirements described here are determined by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention. Individuals should contact the resources listed on this page below for help determining their eligibility.

Your Next Steps

  1. Every adult listed on your lease should fill out the declaration.
  2. Take the declaration(s) to your landlord.
  3. Make sure to document that you delivered the declaration — by video, by getting a signature, or through certified mail.

Please note that this order only delays evictions. You are still required to pay rent and other housing payments, including late fees and penalties. You still need to follow the terms of your lease or other contract — this order does not prevent evictions for reasons other than delinquent payments.

Additional Resources

Housing and Community Development Department Logo
2100 Travis Street, 9th Floor
Houston, TX 77002
832-394-6200
hcdd@houstontx.gov