

**Texas Association of City and County Health Officials** 

## **Position Statement**

## Develop a Local Public Health Provide Type within Managed Care Organizations 3-17-2021

**Senate Bill 73** 

The Texas Association of City and County Health Officials (TACCHO) is the member association of local public health entities, whose 45 members jurisdictional representation covers over 80% of the Texas population to provide public health services in local communities.

TACCHO recommends that the Health and Human Services Commission develop a provider type designation for Local Health Departments, mandating contractual agreements with Managed Care Organizations (MCOs) which will assure adequate reimbursement and establishes a set of activities, "Public Health Services", for reimbursement.

Senate Bill 73 provides the authority for the HHSC to develop this provider type designation.

- a. LHDs have experienced success as direct providers for Medicaid, however, there are significant barriers to participate as part of MCO provider networks.
- b. SB 73 aims to assure fair compensation for primary care services provided by Local Health Departments. SB 73 instructs HHSC to establish a designated provider type for Local Health Departments. Experience has shown that even when services are covered by insurance, certain vulnerable populations continue to seek access and services through Local Health Departments. As an example, Houston Health Department provides concentrated blood lead level screening for those who have not been previously tested, even though it is outlined as a mandatory primary care activity.
- c. SB 73 is NOT an expansion of Medicaid. Dollars are already allocated to MCOs to cover Medicaid patients; this bill just make sure Local Health Departments can access those dollars for primary care services for Medicaid patients.
- d. SB 73 would strengthen our states public health network and provide relief to local taxpayers, who currently cover ALL Local Health Department services.

You may contact Craig Holzheauser at craig@cgagroup.com for additional information.

**Texas Association of City and County Health Officials** 

Abilene-Taylor County Public Health District Annette Lerma, Director

Amarillo Area Public Health District
Casie Stoughton, MPH, BSN, RN, CPH, CPM, Director

Andrews County Health Department Gordon Mattimoe, DNP, APRN, FNP-C, Director

Angelina County & Cities Health District Sharon Shaw, Administrator

Austin Public Health
Stephanie Hayden-Howard, LMSW, Director

Beaumont Public Health Department Sherry Ulmer, RN, Director

Bell County Public Health District

Amanda Robison-Chadwell, MPH, Director

Brazos County Health District Santos Navarrette, Director

Brazoria County Health Department Cathy Sbrusch, RN, BSN, CIC, Director of Public Health

Brownwood – Brown County Health Department *Lisa Dick, RDN, LD, Administrator* 

Cameron County Department of Health and Human Services

Esmeralda Guajardo, Administrator

Chambers County Health Department
Mary Beth Bess, RN, MSN, FNP-BC, Health Services
Director

City of Brownsville Public Health Department Arturo Rodriguez, DNP, MPH, CMP

Collin County Health Care Services Candy Blair, HC Administrator Corpus Christi-Nueces County Public Health District Annette Rodriguez, Director

Corsicana-Navarro County Public Health District *Maria Lemus, Executive Director* 

Dallas County Health and Human Services *Philip Huang, MD, MPH, Director* 

Denton County Public Health
Matt Richardson, DrPH, MPH, Director

Ector County Health Department Brandy Garcia, MPH, RS, DR, Director

City of El Paso Department of Public Health Angela Mora, Director

Fort Bend County Health & Human Services Jacquelyn Johnson-Minter, MD, MBA, MPH Director & Local Health Authority

Galveston County Health District
Kathy Barroso, Chief Executive Officer

Grayson County Health Department Amanda Ortez, RS, MBA, Director

Gregg County Health Department

Abdal J. Harris, MPH, DR, Administrator

Hardin County Health Department Sharon Whitley, Director

Harris County Public Health Gwen Sims, MEd, RD, LD, Interim Executive Director

Hays County Local Health Department Margie Rodriguez, Social Services Manager

Hidalgo County Health & Human Services Eduardo Olivarez, Chief Administrative Officer



**Texas Association of City and County Health Officials** 

Houston Health Department Stephen L. Williams, MEd, MPA, Director

Jasper-Newton County Public Health District Danny Brackin, CPA, Interim Director

City of Laredo Health Department
Richard A Chamberlain, PhD (C), MPH, RS, Health
Director

City of Lubbock Health Department
Katherine Wells, MPH, Director of Public Health

Midland Health and Senior Services Whitney Craig, MPH, Director

Milam County Health Department Robert Kirkpatrick, MS, Director

Northeast Texas Public Health District George T. Roberts, Jr, FACHE, Chief Executive Officer

Paris-Lamar County Health District Gina Prestridge, Executive Director

San Angelo-Tom Green County Health Department Sandra J. Villareal, MPA, Health Director

San Antonio Metropolitan Health District Colleen Bridger, MPH, PhD, Interim Health Director

Scurry County Health Unit
Dana L. Hartman, LVN, PSGT, Director

Sweetwater-Nolan County Health Department *Jamie Mena, RN, Director* 

Tarrant County Public Health Veerinder (Vinny) Taneja, MBBS, MPH, Public Health Director

Victoria County Public Health Department David Gonzales, MS, Public Health Director

Waco-McLennan County Public Health District LaShonda Marley-Horne, MPH, MCHES, Director

Wichita Falls - Wichita County Public Health District Lou Kreidler, RN, BSN, Director of Health

Williamson County & Cities Health District Derrick Neal, MPA, Executive Director



**TACCHO** 

P.O. Box 142343

Austin, Texas 78714

512-809-7201

**Jennifer Smith, MSHP** 

**Interim Executive Director** 

Jsmith@taccho.org

www.taccho.org