Houston Health Department
Amendments/Acknowledgement of Paternity
Acknowledgement of Paternity (AOP)
The AOP process establishes legal paternity for a child born to unmarried parents. The AOP is a legal document under Texas Law and has the same effect as a court order establishing paternity. The AOP is a critical process in ensuring the child is eligible for benefits such as Social Security, Veteran assets, child support and health care.
- The fee to file a new birth certificate based on parentage is $25.00. The additional fee for a certified copy of the updated birth record is $22.00. Fees are paid directly to the Texas Vital Statistics Office in Austin, Texas.
- Both parents must be present and provide valid identification for notarization.
- For your convenience, find a Harris County Clerk's Offices that provide walk-in AOP services without an appointment. Learn more about Harris County Vital Records.
- The Houston Health Department Bureau of Vital Statistics is processing acknowledgment of paternity (AOP) by appointment for either 9:00 a.m. or 1:00 p.m., Tuesday - Friday. To make an appointment with our office, please call 311.